The Glaucoma Division provides evaluation, as well as medical and surgical treatment, of glaucoma and diseases characterized by increased intraocular pressure. In addition to adult patients, the division provides care to many children with congenital and juvenile glaucoma. A nurse-led glaucoma assessment clinic provides routine follow-up screening of intraocular pressure and medication refills for patients between their regularly scheduled visits with the glaucoma consultant.

 

Physician Staff

4 ophthalmic consultants

2 3 one-year sub specialty fellows 2-3 rotating residents

 

Services/Functions
The services/functions provided by the Glaucoma Division are as follows:

  • Comprehensive evaluation, including tonometry, gonioscopy, visual field testing, optic disc stereo photography, anterior segment ultrasound biomicroscopy, axial length and IOL calculations, scanning laser polarimetry (GDx), and Heidelberg retina tomography (HRT);
  • Sedated examinations performed in a dedicated room, when indicated, especially in children with congenital glaucoma; Topical and systemic management of elevated intraocular pressure;
  • YAG capsulotomy and iridotomies;
  • Argon laser trabeculoplasty, gonioplasty, and suture lysis;
  • Pediatric surgical procedures, including goniotomy, trabeculotomy, and nonpenetrating glaucoma surgery with the use of antimetabolite, glaucoma shunt procedures and laser cyclodestructive procedures;
  • Adult surgical procedures, including trabeculectomies and non-penetrating glaucoma surgery with and without the use of antimetabolite, combined glaucoma and cataract surgery, glaucoma shunt procedures, and laser cyclodestruction.
| View Count: (14) | Last Edit Date |
|

نبذة عن القسم

 

يقوم قسم الجلوكوما بتقييم الحالات المرضية وتقديم العلاج الطبي والجراحي للمرضى المصابين بالجلوكوما وأولئك الذين يعانون من أمراض تتسبب في ارتفاع ضغط العين الداخلي. وكما يستقبل القسم البالغين من المرضى فإنه يقوم أيضاً بتوفير الرعاية الطبية للأطفال المصابين بالجلوكوما الخلقية والذين أصيبوا بالجلوكوما لاحقاً. كذلك توجد عيادة مساندة لقسم الجلوكوما تديرها ممرضة متخصصة تقوم بإجراء القياس الروتيني لضغط العين الداخلي للمرضى لمتابعتهم وإعادة تزويدهم بالأدوية خلال الفترات الفاصلة بين مواعيدهم المنتظمة مع استشاري الجلوكوما.

 

أطباء القسم

 

  • أطباء استشاريون في طب العيون  تخصص دقيق في الجلوكوما
  • أطباء زمالة ببرنامج التخصص الفرعي الدقيق
  • أطباء متدربون ببرنامج الأطباء المقيمين

 

خدمات ومهام القسم

 

يقوم قسم الجلوكوما بالمهام والخدمات التالية:

 

  • التقييم الشامل لحالة العين ويشمل ذلك قياس ضغط العين الداخلي، وفحص زاوية العين، وفحص المجال البصري، وتصوير العصب البصري، والفحص المجهري للشدفة الأمامية بالموجات فوق الصوتية، وقياس الطول المحوري واستنتاج قياسات العدسات الصناعية المخصصة للزراعة داخل العين، وتصوير الشبكية المقطعي بجهاز هيدلبيرغ وقياس سماكة طبقة الألياف العصبية.
  • الفحوصات تحت التخدير والتي يتم القيام بها في غرفة مخصصة لذلك عند الحاجة خصوصاً للأطفال المصابين بالجلوكوما الخلقية
  • التحكم بضغط العين المرتفع بالعلاج الموضعي أو الشامل
  • عمليات خزع محفظة العدسة والقزحية بأشعة ياج.
  • علاج الجويئز وزوايا العين وحل الغرز بالليزر
  • العمليات الجراحية للأطفال وتشمل خزع زاوية العين وخزع شبكة الجويئز والجراحات غير النافذة لعلاج الجلوكوما مع استخدام عقار الأنتي ميتابوليت، وزرع أنابيب التصريف داخل العين لعلاج الجلوكوما وعمليات علاج الجسم الهدبي بالليزر.
  • العمليات الجراحية للبالغين وتشمل إزالة أجزاء من الجويئز والجراحات غير النافذة لعلاج الجلوكوما باستخدام أو بدون استخدام عقار الأنتي ميتابوليت، والجراحات المزدوجة التي يتم فيه علاج الجلوكوما وإزالة الساد (الماء الأبيض)، وعمليات زرع أنابيب التصريف داخل العين، وجراحات علاج الجسم الهدبي بالليزر.
| View Count: (14) | Last Edit Date |
|